Dubrovnik, The King’s Landing

Majestic, beautiful, it was almost love at first sight

5T6A9139 copy.jpg

Through the fire and ashes of wars, she was rebuilt from ruins. She might be even more glamorous back in those earlier days, but I like the way she is at this very moment, like what Marguerite Duras wrote in Lover, “I’ve known you for years. Everyone says you were beautiful when you were young, but I want to tell you I think you’re more beautiful now than then. Rather than your face as a young woman, I prefer your face as it is now. Ravaged.” 

5t6a8809-copy

My first encounter with her, was in a Hayao Mizayaki’s Kiki’s Delivery Service, when Kiki the young witch leaving her family to learn craft, was flying over this cluster of cute red houses floating on the sea. Then as I grew up, I found out that this lovely place do exist in this world, it is Dubrovnik.

5t6a9047-copyI first arrived at the King’s Landing in 2014 during my exchange programme. It was on my must-go list. Then again, in 2015, I went back hoping to stay a little longer to soak myself into the charm of this lovely city.

11219438_10153431034300909_5184493716742732594_n.jpgand yes, grab myself a drink while enjoying the sunset!

The old town is very small but I can never get tired of walking around the same alley again and again. And at each turn, there are new things waiting to be discovered!

Leave a Reply

